//
you're reading...
Employment, Money, Wealth & Inequality

£7/hr Employee Fired for Complaining about CEO’s £4,000/hr Pay

Stephanie Bon who was sacked by Lloyds banking group after she complained about the new CEO's outrageous salary  People still haven’t learned that Facebook is not your personal diary.

Stephanie Bon was fired after she posted on Facebook, “LBG’s [Lloyds Banking Group] new CEO gets £4,000 an hour. I get £7. That’s fair.”  In US Dollars she earned $10.97/hr while the CEO earns $6268/hr which is 570 times more which seemed “unfair” to her.

A bank spokesman said Stephanie was not fired for her Facebook comment but instead because she was a temp worker and her assignment was coming to an end. [YEAH RIGHT!]

I wasn’t surprised by the disparity in pay given the prevailing atmosphere here in the USA of 1% vs. 99%, but what surprised me is that the bank is 41% tax-payer owned; it was bailed out by taxpayers back in 2008. So maybe that’s part of why she thinks the pay disparity shouldn’t be so wide between the CEO and some of the employees.

But it’s not just her. It’s also the taxpayers in general who too may be  angered about the CEO salary:

Lloyds Banking Group

image via Wikipedia

“Last week it was revealed that the taxpayer-owned bank offered CEO, António Horta-Osório, as much as £13.5million in salary, bonuses and other benefits this year to poach him from Spanish bank Santander. … The Portuguese banker will also benefit from nearly £900,000-a-year in pension contributions, to make up for his departure from Santander’s generous final salary scheme.”

“The generous pension arrangements are certain to irk public and private sector workers who have been frozen out of their own final salary pension schemes by companies blaming difficult economic conditions.”

“Defiant Miss Bon said: ‘I can’t believe I have been treated so appallingly for what essentially amounts to a chat with my mates outside work. I was at my friend’s having coffee and it was on the news. I went on Facebook and within a couple of hours something else came up so I changed my status.'”

“She argued that she had not revealed anything confidential but her bosses were in no mood for forgiveness.”

“She said: ‘My team leader asked me why I was writing things like that.

‘Then my manager came in and said she was disappointed in me.

‘She said I was putting the company down. But I did not write anything that was controversial.

‘It was hard losing my job. Luckily I had my friends and family that were there to help me out.

‘If I have got an opinion, I write it because I don’t expect my friends to grass me up.’

A Lloyds TSB spokesman said: ‘Stephanie Bon’s departure had absolutely nothing to do with Facebook.

‘Stephanie was employed via an agency on a short-term seven-day rolling contract.

‘The work she had been brought in to do was coming to an end and so she was given her notice.

‘It was only after the notice was served that the comments she made on Facebook then came to light.’

OK Mr. Bank Spokesman, sure, sure….

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-1373723/Bank-worker-Stephanie-Bon-fired-Facebook-post-Lloyds-boss-4k-hour-salary.html#ixzz1p7KSnBbH

About TheDailyPOT

All the world’s a stage so inhale it all and get high on Life! A bit of everything is in The Daily POT.

Discussion

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Election Fraud and CEO Pay « The Daily Pot - March 20, 2012

So What's Your Two Cents?

Thanks for Stopping By

Remember to Post a Comment

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 21 other followers

Blog Posts

March 2012
S M T W T F S
    Apr »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Select a Topic

Tiffanys

"You're a very stylish girl; can't we end this stylishly?" scene from the 1961 movie Breakfast at Tiffany's

Categories

Thanks

